Early Season Ottoneu Update

Jenrry Mejia

Jenrry Mejia: Better Than Byrdak

I wanted to offer a couple of notes about my ottoneu team (team roster and information here), as it’s definitely very interesting to see how things have adjusted as the season has officially started.

The first thing that I noticed, is that there were a couple of players on my team where I could quickly identify that the contracts far outweighed their potential, especially given the constraints of the league. I wound up cutting two players very early, and though I still predict that they will be quite productive, I made back nine dollars of cap space for cutting them. Those two players were Jack Cust ($10) and Tsuyoshi Nishioka ($9). Also, the roster space could be used to pick up a couple of prospects.

I also dropped three $1 relievers – team mascot Tim Byrdak, Hisanori Takahashi, and Clay Hensley. Now, Byrdak and Takahashi I dropped because I felt like I upgraded. I took $1 flyers on Sean Marshall and Takashi Saito, two very, very effective relievers, and I felt it was enough of an upgrade to eat $2 on the Met and ex-Met. Hensley was another story – I wanted to carry a minimum of relievers, and I got lucky grabbing Jenrry Mejia for a single dollar, so Wilton Lopez, Tim Collins, or Hensley had to go. By the way, I totally picked right not dumping Tiny Tim Collins, he’s been awesome so far.

I also added a host of prospects to sit on the bench. I snagged Jose Iglesias (Red Sox SS-in-waiting), Brett Lawrie (Blue Jays 3B-in-waiting), Mike Montgomery (Royals ace-in-waiting), and Jordan Lyles (Astros flamethrower-in-waiting). Now, my roster is almost maxed out, and I only have about ten bucks remaining to use for the rest of the season. That’s not too bad of a deal, but my outfield is still thin. I’d love to be able to do something to beef up that part of my team. But my rotation makes me very, very happy, as I’ve added James Shields and Bud Norris to an already-fearsome five-man rotation.

Oh, and Ryan Hanigan hit two home runs in a single game for me. Winning. Right now, I’m #4 in my league – but small sample sizes and all that. Exciting season ahead.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fantasy Baseball

Leave a Reply

